Baby quilt part 1 – prepping

Today I got a big parcel of beautiful quilting fabric, ready for me to turn into something special for a very special baby.

I couldn’t WAIT to open them, but first thing’s first. I have to start with a clean, clear table. So, I wiped up the mushed broccoli and unidentifiable sticky stuff. Then I had the glorious pleasure of spreading out my loot and having a good think about how to arrange it into a quilt pattern.

image
Just LOOK at them!

I was obviously feeling in the mood for blue and pink florals when I bought it all.

The first plan was to go for a large scale log cabin design, which would result in a square quilt. I did a plan that I really liked, but ideally wanted to do a rectangular quilt, so tried again with the idea that I’d make 6 smaller log cabin blocks and piece them together.

image
First plan
image
Second plan

But then, I unfolded all of the fabrics to have a look and think about measurements, and I realised that I had three distinct groups – 4 small to mid scale patterns, 3 mid size patterns and 4 large scale patterns.

image
Small to mid scale
image
Mid scale
image
Large scale prints, including my absolute favourite, bottom left

image

The more I thought about each one, and how best to display the fabrics themselves, the more I felt like creating a simple design that really showcases each design.

So, I went back to the drawing board a final time and came up with something that I think will look really stunning…

image

You can see that I changed my mind a couple of times! I decided to use four lots of the larger pieces, so that they rotated to give a bit more variation throughout the quilt. It should also be fairly easy to piece, as the blocks replicate themselves, so each large piece is paired with the same two smaller pieces, in the same order.

For me, it is definitely more important to take the cue from the fabric itself. I’m really looking forward to seeing how this one will turn out.

Keep an eye out for part 2 – the nail biting measuring and cutting!

One thought on “Baby quilt part 1 – prepping

Leave a comment